Holidays in the United States of America

Holidays in the United States of America


1.Introduction (Only names)1

2.New Years Day4

3.Martin Luther Kings Day.5

4.Presidents Day..7

5.Memorial Day...12

6.Independence Day.14

7.Labour Day ...16

8.Columbus Day...18

9.Veterans Day.20

10.Thanksgiving Day.21


12.St.Valentines Day28

13.April Fools Day30




1. Only names

People in every culture celebrate holidays. Although the word "holiday" literally means "holy day," most American holidays are not religious, but commemorative in nature and origin. Because the nation is blessed with rich ethnic heritage it is possible to trace some of the American holidays to diverse cultural sources and traditions, but all holidays have taken on a distinctively American flavour. In the United States, the word "holiday" is synonymous with "celebration".

In the strict sense, there are no federal (national) holidays in the United States. Each of the 50 states has jurisdiction over its holidays. In practice, however, most states observe the federal ("legal or public ") holidays, even though the President and Congress can legally designate holidays only for federal government employees.

The following holidays per year are proclaimed by the federal government.

New Year's DayJanuary, 1


- .